Kahlaporzellan // OPUS

Like folded paper works

The stylistic elements of the OPUS porcelain range transform the mass of plates, bowls and dishes into luxuriant smooth surfaces. Quoting the mathematical depiction of bodies and surfaces in digital space allows shapes to come into being which charm with a mixture of technical precision and palpable reality.

The angular meetings of complex surface geometries result in a delightful play between light and shade. Some surfaces are equipped to fulfil functions, producing handles, bearing surfaces and spouts etc. The innovative power of these shapes is also reflected in the production technology: all physical laws of porcelain manufacturing seem to have been repealed, which can be realised by combining years of experience and modern production processes only.

The OPUS collection consists of a maxi platter, which can be used as a dining plate, a serving plate or an underplate; a midi plate which forms a single entity with the dish and may be used as a lid and, to round off the series, the mini plate, which is ideal for bread or side-dishes, and tiny dip bowls.

Their succinct design lends the individual elements of the OPUS series an architectonic feel. Arranged together on a festive table, they create a kind of digital landscape which stands in contrast with the prepared menus and sets the scene for the food.

© speziell® / January 2007

Recent Projects

Kahlaporzellan // OPUS

Wie gefaltetes Papier

Die Formensprache der Porzellan-Serie Opus löst die Volumen von Tellern, Schüsseln und Schalen in großzügige, planare Flächen auf. Durch das Zitieren der mathematischen Beschreibung von Körpern und Flächen im digitalen Raum entstehen Formen, deren Reiz zwischen technischem Schema und begreifbarer Realität liegt.

Einzelne Flächen sind mit Funktionen belegt – es ergeben sich Griff-Bereiche, Ablage-Flächen, Schnaupen usw. Auch in der Produktionstechnik spiegelt sich die Innovationskraft dieser Form wieder: scheinbar alle physikalischen Gesetze der Porzellanfertigung sind aufgehoben – nur durch die Kombination jahrelanger Erfahrung und modernster Fertigungsverfahren ist die Realisierung möglich.

Die Opus-Kollektion besteht aus einer Maxi-Platte, die sich als Essteller, Servierplatte oder auch als Platzteller eignet. Ebenso steht eine Midi-Platte zur Auswahl, die mit der Schale eine Einheit bildet und als Deckel genutzt werden kann. Die Mini-Platte, ideal als Brot- und Beilagenteller, und das kleine Dipschälchen komplettieren die Serie.

Die Teile der Opus-Serie wirken durch ihre prägnanten Formen wie architektonische Elemente. Zusammengestellt bilden sie auf der festlich gedeckten Tafel eine Art digitale Landschaft, die mit den angerichteten Menüs kontrastiert und die Speisen inszeniert.

© speziell® / Januar 2007

Aktuelle Projekte